The hotel was originally constructed in 1901 as the Teller County Hospital to provide state-of-the-art medical care for a booming population in the Cripple Creek mining district. Constructed as the largest and grandest hospital in the area, boasting several wards, a modern operating room, a grand staircase (built extra-wide for gurneys), and meandering corridors, the Teller County Hospital witnessed many booms and busts from 1901 through the late 1950s. The hospital closed its doors permanently in 1960 after last serving as a nursing home.
The hospital was purchased in 1963 and lovingly restored to serve as a beautiful Victorian hotel. Antique furnishings abound throughout 14 guest rooms, lobby, and other public spaces. Each guest room is adorned with its own unique decor and each door bears the name of how that particular room may have been used when once a hospital. The Travel (RV) Park was added in the mid-1960s to respond to the latest trend in travel – the Recreational Vehicle. This trend is as popular as ever, and with full hook-ups in all RV sites including water, sewer, and electric, along with dedicated primitive tent areas.